International Academy of Practical Theology

IAPT

President: Prof. Bonnie Miller-McLemore

E. Rhodes and Leona B. Carpenter Professor of Pastoral Theology and Counseling Vanderbilt University

Nashville TN, USA

president@ia-pt.org

www.ia-pt.org

March 2011

Dear IAPT colleagues:

Conference 2011: We are enthused by how the program is developing. We will have an introductory keynote lecture by anthropologist Mattijs van de Port (VU University), who will pave the conceptual ground and locate us in Amsterdam, then three keynotes by Constanze Thierfelder (Marburg, Germany), Yolanda Dreyer (Pretoria, RSA) and Maaike de Haardt (Nijmegen, NL), exploring different aspects and sites of desire and theology. We are working on some plenary 'anniversary' roundtable meetings assessing the state of the art in the discipline and the way forward. We also have a nice number of very interesting proposals for research papers and seminars. If you have not yet made a proposal, there is still some time left. We have passed the initial deadline but we can accommodate you if you respond swiftly. Here are some things all prospective participants need to know and/or do:

- Proposing a paper and/or registration should be done through the website www.ia-pt.org >> Tab "Conference 2011" >> Form (this form covers both paper and registration)
- Payment of the conference fee, dues and (if you wish) a donation can also be done through the website >> Tab "Pay/Donate". If you want to bring someone for the opening and closing dinner, add those items to your payment. The payment system (Paypal) works with Paypal accounts or credit cards.
- After your registration, you will receive an email with the 'partner code' needed for your hotel booking. Please make your reservation as soon as convenient; based on the number of reservations we receive some free rooms to include in our scholars fellowship.
- For all questions, contact Ruard Ganzevoort at conference@ia-pt.org

Make a Donation: Please take a moment and consider making a donation to the Scholars Fellowship Fund via the IAPT web. The Executive Committee heartily thanks those who have already contributed. We are well on our way but still shy of the \$1000 matching gift given in honor of Lewis Mudge and Don Browning by a generous

anonymous donor to inspire wider participation in the effort to strengthen the Academy. Don't miss this opportunity to double the amount of your contribution and enrich the conference by including those who lack sufficient resources to attend. I invite you to make a donation now.

Requests for a Scholars Fellowship: If you are in need of support to attend the conference, please email your funding request, confirming your need and your anticipated budget, to the Treasurer, Pam Couture (treasurer@ia-pt.org or pameladcouture@gmail.com) and Program Chair (conference@ia-pt.org).

Memorials: At our opening Thursday evening dinner, July 21, we will briefly honor two IAPT members who have died since our last conference in 2009, Don Browning and Lewis Mudge. Please let us know if there are other members needing recognition.

We need your Mailing Address: We are pleased to announce that the 2009 conference volume is in the hands of Lit-Verlag. The publisher agreed to distribute copies of the book to IAPT members. For that reason we need your mailing address. If you have registered for the conference, we have your up to date address. If not, please take a moment to update it via the address update form on the IAPT website (Tab "Members").

Brief Reminder, Executive Committee Slate 2013: In January, names of the proposed Executive Committee Officers were circulated (Claire Wolfteich, President; Jaco Dreyer, Vice President; Heather Walton, Secretary; Neil Pembroke, Treasurer; Stephanie Klein and Robert Mager, Members at Large). Any petition for alternative candidates must be received by April 21 (see By Laws for details).

We look forward to seeing you all soon at the 2011 conference!

Sincerely,

Ruard Ganzevoort, Netherlands (Program Committee Chair) Bonnie Miller-McLemore, USA (President)

On behalf of the Executive Committee:

Jean-Guy Nadeau, Canada (Vice President) Heather Walton, UK (Secretary) Pam Couture, USA (Treasurer) Jaco Dreyer, South Africa (Member at Large) Neil Pembroke, Australia (Member at Large)