International Academy of Practical Theology

www.ia-pt.org

IAPT

President: Prof. Bonnie Miller-McLemore

E. Rhodes and Leona B. Carpenter Professor of Pastoral Theology and Counseling Vanderbilt University

Nashville TN, USA

president@ia-pt.org

September 2010

Dear IAPT colleagues,

Greetings! I hope your year goes well. I have two important items for your consideration.

First, the Executive Committee has commenced discussion on the slate of new Executive Committee officers for 2011. We solicit and welcome your recommendations for people you'd like to see involved in the academy's leadership (President; Vice-president; and two Members at Large; Jean-Guy has retired from teaching and so does not intend to run for presidency). Self-nominations are welcome also. As we compose the slate, we will be attentive to furthering the academy's aims and representing its diverse constituencies. Please send your suggestions to me at president@ia-pt.org.

Second, on behalf of the Executive Committee, *I am glad to announce new members for 2011*. We extend a warm thank you to all who made nominations, assuming an important responsibility for shaping who we are and our future direction as an academy. We appreciate your taking the time to write or to support letters of nomination and to solicit CVs of your colleagues. The Executive Committee gave these materials their upmost consideration, reviewing them carefully and discussing each nominee during a recent conference call in light of our By-Laws. We considered it a privilege to learn about the impressive scholarly achievements in practical theology around the globe and we are eager to invite into our midst twenty new members from nine different countries:

Zoe Bennett, Anglia Ruskin University and the Cambridge Theological Federation (UK) James Brandt, Saint Paul School of Theology (USA)
Rein Brouwer, Protestant Theological University (Netherlands)
Annemie Dillen, Faculty of Theology, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven (Belgium)
Mary McClintock Fulkerson, Duke Divinity School (USA)
Colleen Griffith, School of Theology and Ministry, Boston College (USA)
Jeanne Hoeft, Saint Paul School of Theology (USA)

Ralph Kunz, University of Zurich (Switerland)

Soo Young Kwon, Yonsei University (South Korea)

Boyung Lee, Pacific School of Religion (USA)

Joretta Marshall, Brite Divinity School, Texas Christian University (USA)

Marilyn Naidoo, University of South Africa (RSA)

Evelyn Parker, Perkins School of Theology, Southern Methodist University (USA)

Blanches de Paula, Methodist University of São Paulo (Brazil)

Clélia Peretti, Pontificie Universidade Católica do Paraná (Brazil)

Ulrich Riegel, University of Siegen (Germany)

Andrew Root, Luther Seminary (USA)

Ursula Roth, Evangelisch-Theologische Fakultät, Universität München (Germany)

Christoph Schneider-Harpprecht, University of Heidelberg (Germany)

Ignatius Swart, Huguenot College (RSA)

Membership becomes effective upon conference attendance and dues payment. So I encourage you to reach out to these members and support their attendance at our 2011 conference and their active participation in the academy's activities. The Executive Committee looks forward to extending a warm welcome to them in Amsterdam!

On that note, I'm happy to say that planning is well underway for the conference with special thanks due to the local committee and conference host, Ruard Ganzevoort. Soon you will receive a Call for Papers from Ruard. We look forward to receiving your proposals and supporting your participation in what will be an excellent occasion to enrich international scholarship and conversation in practical theology.

Warm regards,

Bonnie Miller-McLemore, USA (President)

On behalf of the Executive Committee:

Jean-Guy Nadeau, Canada (Vice President)

Heather Walton, UK (Secretary)

Pam Couture, USA (Treasurer)

Jaco Dreyer, South Africa (Member at Large)

Neil Pembroke, Australia (Member at Large)

Ruard Ganzevoort, Netherlands (Program Committee Chair)